2020 FJRiders.com Calendar Contest is underway! Vote Here!

Update-fixed...I hope I don't, but I might have a malfunctioning ABS block

Tech section strictly for the FJR. Everything from oil changes & suspension setup's to removing sheep hair from hard to reach places on the bike so that your wife never finds out.
User avatar
wheatonFJR
Contributor
I post more than I ride
Posts: 10228
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2013 6:10 pm
FJRModel: 2013 -"Lucky13" -motoman break-in by jwilly...
Location: Travelers Rest, SC
x 12017
x 5760

Re: I hope I don't, but I might have a malfunctioning ABS block

Post by wheatonFJR » Sat Aug 10, 2019 10:49 pm

blind squirrel wrote:
Sat Aug 10, 2019 6:40 pm
ionbeam wrote:
Sat Aug 10, 2019 5:19 pm
Unless someone used antifreeze and water to flush the brake circuit I can't imagine that the metering block has gone bad on an '013.
I can see a 5-6 year old bike that has not had the fluid changed and the ABS not periodically cycled having a frozen ABS block, regardless of the generation of the bike.
Yeah, me too.
One post at a time...and it didn't cost me a dime...<Johnny Cash>

User avatar
raYzerman
Contributor
Veteran
Posts: 3651
Joined: Mon Mar 18, 2013 10:49 am
FJRModel: 2014 A Root Beer, 2009 CBF1000A
Location: Millgrove, Ontario, CA
x 921
x 2401

Re: I hope I don't, but I might have a malfunctioning ABS block

Post by raYzerman » Sun Aug 11, 2019 7:33 am

Gen1 most prone, Gen2 '06-'07 right behind them. System changed in '08, new sensor system, new pump assy's that were obviously different. Don't hear much of any issues with those, or anybody that had to replace a pump, and no Gen3's... which were just a minor improvement to the '08-'12's. Brownish brake fluid says it hasn't been flushed for a couple of years. Clutch fluid, if we assume it was flushed at the same time, should not be black... if it is, it was never flushed. If it was just a darker shade of brown, then it's been a couple of years.....
Annual flushing mostly will keep '08 up happy, but activating the ABS pump will keep it even happier. Key word, annual. But I am curious if the ABS test will run now, or since you had no bad fuses, why it didn't run in the first place.
Keep yer stick on the ice........... (Red Green)
Duct tape can't fix stupid, but it can sure muffle the sound.

User avatar
raYzerman
Contributor
Veteran
Posts: 3651
Joined: Mon Mar 18, 2013 10:49 am
FJRModel: 2014 A Root Beer, 2009 CBF1000A
Location: Millgrove, Ontario, CA
x 921
x 2401

Re: I hope I don't, but I might have a malfunctioning ABS block

Post by raYzerman » Sun Aug 11, 2019 8:21 am

Note added..... did you check the fuses in the regular fuse panel, i.e., fuses 1, 2, 11 in the owner's manual P. 7-33..... just a thought.
Keep yer stick on the ice........... (Red Green)
Duct tape can't fix stupid, but it can sure muffle the sound.

User avatar
wheatonFJR
Contributor
I post more than I ride
Posts: 10228
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2013 6:10 pm
FJRModel: 2013 -"Lucky13" -motoman break-in by jwilly...
Location: Travelers Rest, SC
x 12017
x 5760

Re: I hope I don't, but I might have a malfunctioning ABS block

Post by wheatonFJR » Sun Aug 11, 2019 6:44 pm

raYzerman wrote:
Sun Aug 11, 2019 8:21 am
Note added..... did you check the fuses in the regular fuse panel, i.e., fuses 1, 2, 11 in the owner's manual P. 7-33..... just a thought.
I checked the three fuses labeled ABS...30, 20 and 7.5
One post at a time...and it didn't cost me a dime...<Johnny Cash>

User avatar
wheatonFJR
Contributor
I post more than I ride
Posts: 10228
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2013 6:10 pm
FJRModel: 2013 -"Lucky13" -motoman break-in by jwilly...
Location: Travelers Rest, SC
x 12017
x 5760

Re: I hope I don't, but I might have a malfunctioning ABS block

Post by wheatonFJR » Sun Aug 11, 2019 7:34 pm

Intech wrote:
Sat Aug 10, 2019 3:44 pm
Ray and I changed out an ABS module on a Gen II. It is a pain getting the air bled out of it. I hope you saved the stock bleeders as it is impossible to bleed the ABS block with speed bleeders. Thankfully I had my old ones. We swapped them out and everything bled. Just throwing that out there if you have to change the ABS module.
Saved the stock bleeders. Thanks for the insight Bob.
One post at a time...and it didn't cost me a dime...<Johnny Cash>

rbentnail
Contributor
Veteran
Posts: 411
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2013 4:54 am
FJRModel: 2007A
Location: Asheboro, NC
x 108
x 218

Re: I hope I don't, but I might have a malfunctioning ABS block

Post by rbentnail » Mon Aug 12, 2019 10:18 am

Do you have an ohmmeter to check the continuity of the test initiation device?

Do you have a small alligator clip patch cable or equivalent to use instead? Nearly anything will do. Last time I used a paper clip.

User avatar
wheatonFJR
Contributor
I post more than I ride
Posts: 10228
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2013 6:10 pm
FJRModel: 2013 -"Lucky13" -motoman break-in by jwilly...
Location: Travelers Rest, SC
x 12017
x 5760

Re: I hope I don't, but I might have a malfunctioning ABS block

Post by wheatonFJR » Mon Aug 12, 2019 10:24 am

rbentnail wrote:
Mon Aug 12, 2019 10:18 am
Do you have an ohmmeter to check the continuity of the test initiation device?

Do you have a small alligator clip patch cable or equivalent to use instead? Nearly anything will do. Last time I used a paper clip.
We checked the bike with two different devices, my factory device, and Griff's device...which has worked on his Gen 3. No ABS activation with either device.
One post at a time...and it didn't cost me a dime...<Johnny Cash>

User avatar
ionbeam
Contributor
Veteran
Posts: 1234
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 7:14 am
FJRModel: '15ES in Low-Viz Assfault Gray
Location: Sandown, NH
x 237
x 1890

Re: I hope I don't, but I might have a malfunctioning ABS block

Post by ionbeam » Mon Aug 12, 2019 11:08 am

wheatonFJR wrote:
Mon Aug 12, 2019 10:24 am
rbentnail wrote:
Mon Aug 12, 2019 10:18 am
Do you have an ohmmeter to check the continuity of the test initiation device?

Do you have a small alligator clip patch cable or equivalent to use instead? Nearly anything will do. Last time I used a paper clip.
We checked the bike with two different devices, my factory device, and Griff's device...which has worked on his Gen 3. No ABS activation with either device.
Can you contact the seller and see if he did anything to disable the ABS. Just saying Image

After all, ABS is dangerous and it implies that you don't know how to ride well and invalidates your Man Card.

Do you still have fault ABS_ 25?

User avatar
wheatonFJR
Contributor
I post more than I ride
Posts: 10228
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2013 6:10 pm
FJRModel: 2013 -"Lucky13" -motoman break-in by jwilly...
Location: Travelers Rest, SC
x 12017
x 5760

Re: I hope I don't, but I might have a malfunctioning ABS block

Post by wheatonFJR » Mon Aug 12, 2019 11:15 am

ionbeam wrote:
Mon Aug 12, 2019 11:08 am
wheatonFJR wrote:
Mon Aug 12, 2019 10:24 am
rbentnail wrote:
Mon Aug 12, 2019 10:18 am
Do you have an ohmmeter to check the continuity of the test initiation device?

Do you have a small alligator clip patch cable or equivalent to use instead? Nearly anything will do. Last time I used a paper clip.
We checked the bike with two different devices, my factory device, and Griff's device...which has worked on his Gen 3. No ABS activation with either device.
Can you contact the seller and see if he did anything to disable the ABS. Just saying Image

After all, ABS is dangerous and it implies that you don't know how to ride well and invalidates your Man Card.

Do you still have fault ABS_ 25?
I will check it in the next few days, I rode all day yesterday and I enjoyed it. Only clenched up on gravel on a blind right-hander once. And I did not look at the oncoming truck. :shock:
One post at a time...and it didn't cost me a dime...<Johnny Cash>

User avatar
ionbeam
Contributor
Veteran
Posts: 1234
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 7:14 am
FJRModel: '15ES in Low-Viz Assfault Gray
Location: Sandown, NH
x 237
x 1890

Re: I hope I don't, but I might have a malfunctioning ABS block

Post by ionbeam » Mon Aug 12, 2019 11:41 am

Wheaties, the next time you access the ABS Diagnostic plug, put a volt meter between the Blue/Red and Blue/Black wire. You should read +5 VDC (or close to that). When you jumper the B/R wire to the B/Bl you are shorting the B/R wire to ground. This is a software trick that the ECU reads as switching from a logic 1 to a logic 0 and causes the ECU to enter the Diagnostic mode. The B/R wire Tees in the harness and goes to the ABS ECU also and tells the ABS ECU to go into the diagnostic mode too. If either the +5 volts or the ground is missing neither ECU will go into the diagnostic mode.

If you still have a fault ABS_25 you will need to fix that and it should allow your ABS to work again. If it was a wiring problem between the ABS ECU and the front wheel sensor you would get a different fault code (ABS_15) so if you are getting ABS_25 it's the sensor itself or the ABS ring on the wheel.

User avatar
wheatonFJR
Contributor
I post more than I ride
Posts: 10228
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2013 6:10 pm
FJRModel: 2013 -"Lucky13" -motoman break-in by jwilly...
Location: Travelers Rest, SC
x 12017
x 5760

Re: I hope I don't, but I might have a malfunctioning ABS block

Post by wheatonFJR » Mon Aug 12, 2019 12:19 pm

ionbeam wrote:
Mon Aug 12, 2019 11:41 am
Wheaties, the next time you access the ABS Diagnostic plug, put a volt meter between the Blue/Red and Blue/Black wire. You should read +5 VDC (or close to that). When you jumper the B/R wire to the B/Bl you are shorting the B/R wire to ground. This is a software trick that the ECU reads as switching from a logic 1 to a logic 0 and causes the ECU to enter the Diagnostic mode. The B/R wire Tees in the harness and goes to the ABS ECU also and tells the ABS ECU to go into the diagnostic mode too. If either the +5 volts or the ground is missing neither ECU will go into the diagnostic mode.

If you still have a fault ABS_25 you will need to fix that and it should allow your ABS to work again. If it was a wiring problem between the ABS ECU and the front wheel sensor you would get a different fault code (ABS_15) so if you are getting ABS_25 it's the sensor itself or the ABS ring on the wheel.
Image
One post at a time...and it didn't cost me a dime...<Johnny Cash>

User avatar
raYzerman
Contributor
Veteran
Posts: 3651
Joined: Mon Mar 18, 2013 10:49 am
FJRModel: 2014 A Root Beer, 2009 CBF1000A
Location: Millgrove, Ontario, CA
x 921
x 2401

Re: I hope I don't, but I might have a malfunctioning ABS block

Post by raYzerman » Mon Aug 12, 2019 1:18 pm

If fuses OK, then check for presence of the ABS relay back near the ABS pump and forward of it... right side cover... if it clicks during ABS test, well, at least it's a sign of life.... I don't think a sensor code will prevent running the test..... will await word whether it happens or not. You might need three hands to check this all out.
Keep yer stick on the ice........... (Red Green)
Duct tape can't fix stupid, but it can sure muffle the sound.

User avatar
silverback
Veteran
Posts: 1815
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2013 5:36 pm
FJRModel: 2005
Location: Wichita, KS
x 1
x 882

Re: I hope I don't, but I might have a malfunctioning ABS block

Post by silverback » Mon Aug 12, 2019 1:34 pm

So...I know something about that bike that others don't.

The previous owner had a harness installed to run the brake and turn lights in the Givi top case.

What do you want to bet the wire running those is the wire that SHOULD tell the ABS module the brake light circuit is active.

Mechanic alphabet: ACOBF (Always Check the Obvious and Basics First).

Chase down that auxiliary harness and make sure they didn't hamfist the factory harness.

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk

There's just too much what the fuck in this thread to know where to begin...
--BikerGeek

User avatar
wheatonFJR
Contributor
I post more than I ride
Posts: 10228
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2013 6:10 pm
FJRModel: 2013 -"Lucky13" -motoman break-in by jwilly...
Location: Travelers Rest, SC
x 12017
x 5760

Re: I hope I don't, but I might have a malfunctioning ABS block

Post by wheatonFJR » Mon Aug 12, 2019 1:47 pm

Thanks for all the assistance. Really appreciated.

As Griff will tell you...All this crap is Way the fook over my head.

You guys are using english...I recognize that. But my vocabulary is not up to snuff. Since I'm usually killing a beer buzz after work, I will get the manual out, look over this thread, try to do something on this Friday and Saturday, try not to fook something up...as I am riding with Tommy848 for half a day on Sunday.

I am WAY behind on riding for the year...dammit. But I really need to get this unexpected ABS block issue put to bed.
One post at a time...and it didn't cost me a dime...<Johnny Cash>

User avatar
wheatonFJR
Contributor
I post more than I ride
Posts: 10228
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2013 6:10 pm
FJRModel: 2013 -"Lucky13" -motoman break-in by jwilly...
Location: Travelers Rest, SC
x 12017
x 5760

Re: I hope I don't, but I might have a malfunctioning ABS block

Post by wheatonFJR » Mon Aug 12, 2019 1:48 pm

silverback wrote:
Mon Aug 12, 2019 1:34 pm
So...I know something about that bike that others don't.

The previous owner had a harness installed to run the brake and turn lights in the Givi top case.

What do you want to bet the wire running those is the wire that SHOULD tell the ABS module the brake light circuit is active.

Mechanic alphabet: ACOBF (Always Check the Obvious and Basics First).

Chase down that auxiliary harness and make sure they didn't hamfist the factory harness.

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk
Image
One post at a time...and it didn't cost me a dime...<Johnny Cash>

User avatar
raYzerman
Contributor
Veteran
Posts: 3651
Joined: Mon Mar 18, 2013 10:49 am
FJRModel: 2014 A Root Beer, 2009 CBF1000A
Location: Millgrove, Ontario, CA
x 921
x 2401

Re: I hope I don't, but I might have a malfunctioning ABS block

Post by raYzerman » Mon Aug 12, 2019 3:20 pm

The Gen3's have brake light relays, that are supposed to (as I've read) not affect anything..... however, darn good point, what foreign wiring is on there and how did the fook it up (maybe didn't). Another relatively simple thing one could do if so inclined is take 12V directly to the ABS pump and see if it runs, least you'd know the thing will spin, and if it's not, then power ain't seemingly getting there.
Dust off yer passport Wheatie, Rayzerman's shop has an opening... don't make me come down there (would if I could)!
Keep yer stick on the ice........... (Red Green)
Duct tape can't fix stupid, but it can sure muffle the sound.

User avatar
silverback
Veteran
Posts: 1815
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2013 5:36 pm
FJRModel: 2005
Location: Wichita, KS
x 1
x 882

Re: RE: Re: I hope I don't, but I might have a malfunctioning ABS block

Post by silverback » Mon Aug 12, 2019 4:32 pm

raYzerman wrote:The Gen3's have brake light relays, that are supposed to (as I've read) not affect anything..... however, darn good point, what foreign wiring is on there and how did the fook it up (maybe didn't). Another relatively simple thing one could do if so inclined is take 12V directly to the ABS pump and see if it runs, least you'd know the thing will spin, and if it's not, then power ain't seemingly getting there.
Dust off yer passport Wheatie, Rayzerman's shop has an opening... don't make me come down there (would if I could)!
Pfft. Silverback Garage is probably further, butat least has less understanding of FJRs and beer that's not as good as Molsen's. Why would he want to go to Canada?

Good point though about directly powering the motor.

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk

There's just too much what the fuck in this thread to know where to begin...
--BikerGeek

rbentnail
Contributor
Veteran
Posts: 411
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2013 4:54 am
FJRModel: 2007A
Location: Asheboro, NC
x 108
x 218

Re: I hope I don't, but I might have a malfunctioning ABS block

Post by rbentnail » Mon Aug 12, 2019 5:35 pm

wheatonFJR wrote:
Mon Aug 12, 2019 10:24 am
rbentnail wrote:
Mon Aug 12, 2019 10:18 am
Do you have an ohmmeter to check the continuity of the test initiation device?

Do you have a small alligator clip patch cable or equivalent to use instead? Nearly anything will do. Last time I used a paper clip.
We checked the bike with two different devices, my factory device, and Griff's device...which has worked on his Gen 3. No ABS activation with either device.
The only way then to see if the test instrument is good is to try it again on a known good source, griff's bike. But also, the problem could lie in the wiring between the test connector and the ECU on your bike. Perhaps it is damaged? Or a cold solder joint in the connector itself on the bike? Something like that. You should make sure the wiring and all connections are intact. Jumping to the conclusion that the ABS Block is faulty without checking the intermediate steps to get there is going step A, B, ....., E. I'd start by ohming my test apparatus, then ohm the appropriate wires from the ABS test plug pins to the ECU.

User avatar
wheatonFJR
Contributor
I post more than I ride
Posts: 10228
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2013 6:10 pm
FJRModel: 2013 -"Lucky13" -motoman break-in by jwilly...
Location: Travelers Rest, SC
x 12017
x 5760

Re: I hope I don't, but I might have a malfunctioning ABS block

Post by wheatonFJR » Mon Aug 12, 2019 7:49 pm

rbentnail wrote:
Mon Aug 12, 2019 5:35 pm
wheatonFJR wrote:
Mon Aug 12, 2019 10:24 am
rbentnail wrote:
Mon Aug 12, 2019 10:18 am
Do you have an ohmmeter to check the continuity of the test initiation device?

Do you have a small alligator clip patch cable or equivalent to use instead? Nearly anything will do. Last time I used a paper clip.
We checked the bike with two different devices, my factory device, and Griff's device...which has worked on his Gen 3. No ABS activation with either device.
The only way then to see if the test instrument is good is to try it again on a known good source, griff's bike. But also, the problem could lie in the wiring between the test connector and the ECU on your bike. Perhaps it is damaged? Or a cold solder joint in the connector itself on the bike? Something like that. You should make sure the wiring and all connections are intact. Jumping to the conclusion that the ABS Block is faulty without checking the intermediate steps to get there is going step A, B, ....., E. I'd start by ohming my test apparatus, then ohm the appropriate wires from the ABS test plug pins to the ECU.
We've used Griff's device on my previous 13. It facilitated the actuation of the ABS quite nicely. Have no issues with it.
One post at a time...and it didn't cost me a dime...<Johnny Cash>

User avatar
silverback
Veteran
Posts: 1815
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2013 5:36 pm
FJRModel: 2005
Location: Wichita, KS
x 1
x 882

Re: RE: Re: I hope I don't, but I might have a malfunctioning ABS block

Post by silverback » Mon Aug 12, 2019 8:54 pm

wheatonFJR wrote:
rbentnail wrote:
Mon Aug 12, 2019 5:35 pm
wheatonFJR wrote:
Mon Aug 12, 2019 10:24 am
We checked the bike with two different devices, my factory device, and Griff's device...which has worked on his Gen 3. No ABS activation with either device.
The only way then to see if the test instrument is good is to try it again on a known good source, griff's bike. But also, the problem could lie in the wiring between the test connector and the ECU on your bike. Perhaps it is damaged? Or a cold solder joint in the connector itself on the bike? Something like that. You should make sure the wiring and all connections are intact. Jumping to the conclusion that the ABS Block is faulty without checking the intermediate steps to get there is going step A, B, ....., E. I'd start by ohming my test apparatus, then ohm the appropriate wires from the ABS test plug pins to the ECU.
We've used Griff's device on my previous 13. It facilitated the actuation of the ABS quite nicely. Have no issues with it.
When I had the fiasco with my 05 and the ABS not working, the place that sold it to me told me to take it on a gravel road about 60mph and do a few full ABS stops to get it unstuck. So, give Bobs Bikz in Kingman KS a call. I am sure they can help.

(620) 532-2400

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk

There's just too much what the fuck in this thread to know where to begin...
--BikerGeek

Post Reply